Rhodes and Chania

April 2. Sunday, 2:15pm. Yesterday’s trip to Rhodes was awesome. Called Rodos in Greek. One of the first stops on our tour was at a very old church. I felt so good, I jogged from the bus to the church entrance. About 25 yards. Ellen called it a miracle. I have been healed!!!! Rhodes is where the Aegean and Mediterranean meet. Turkey was only 11 miles away. Rhodes has over 300 days of sunshine a year. Beautiful in the mid seventies yesterday. The Euro is used here. The city is a walled city built around a huge castle complex. It is the oldest inhabited medieval city in Europe. Before walking the city, we bussed up to a monastery on Mt. Philerimos and toured it with our guide. On the grounds were literally dozens and dozens of Peacocks. They weren’t the only stuff on the ground, if you know what I mean!! Beautiful birds but very loud and poopy. Kind of like me, El says!! Well, anyway, after that we went back to the town to spend some hours roaming around. We never did get to Lindos, Joanie. Wine is really big on the island and also olives. Over 200 varieties of olives!! We had lunch in a Greek cafe’. El had a Gyro and I had Moussaka and Greek salad. How’s that Tina? Tell your father! While eating, a man with a guitar serenaded us. I had my Greek debut singing harmony with him. You may ask, “how do you know Greek?” I would answer, “there’s a lot of things you don’t know about me”. Luckily, he sang John Denver”s “Country Roads” in english with a heavy Greek accent. I accompanied him in English with a slight French/Canadian accent. We did well!! Rhodes will be very high on our list to visit again sometime.
Here’s a story about salt. Early on in our cruise, my table mates got on me about how much salt I consumed. So, in LaPaz, Mexico, our fifth stop, I bought a salt shaker that looked like a Mexican peasant and brought it to our table every night at dinner. Just to remind them how rude they were and how they hurt my feelings. We have an Assistant Waiter and a Senior Waiter (the same ones every night, so we know them well) that serve us each night. There is also a Head Waiter that is in charge of half the dinning room and a Maitre D’ in charge of the whole dining room. (Seats a little over 325 people). I named the saltshaker “Señor Salty”. He became quite famous. The assistant waiter tried to steal him several times and I had to tie Señor to my wrist with twine. The Head Waiter noticed Señor and asked if he could have him when he got off in Venice. I said OK but I said I would be lonely. In Dubai, one of our table mates bought me a set of salt AND pepper shakers in the shape of a Sheik and his wife dressed in a Burka. So I have been using those. But now, since we are out of the desert, everybody said they were out of style, so last night another one of our mates gave me a Rhodesian donkey carrying a little salt and pepper shaker. Really cute. In Rhodes, it is said that dolphins bring good luck. A few minutes, after I received the donkey, guess who shows up with a pair of dolphin shakers??? The Maitre D’ himself. Quite a day, don’t you think?
7:10pm. Now I’ll tell you a little bit about Crete. When we arrived in the port city of Chania this morning about 6:30, we looked out our slider and saw 7,000 ft. mountains covered with snow. What a surprise!! They are actually called the “White Mountains”. After Ellen stopped drooling, we went to breakfast and planned our day. We decided not to tour but just take a shuttle into the city. Beautiful, clean, picturesque city. Very pretty waterfront. Lots of cafes, restaurants, markets, souvenir vendors, and other stores selling clothes, leather goods, etc. We walked around taking photos, watching Greek children do folk dancing, sipping ouzo, and simply relaxing for several hours. One of the highlights, especially for me, was visiting an archeological museum filled with ancient Minoan artifacts. It was, I think, the best museum I’ve been to in a very, long time. I had wanted, very much, to go to the ruins at Knossos, the ancient capital of the Minoan civilization. I wanted to see the excavated labyrinth, home of the Minotaur, under King Minos’ palace. But, alas, Knossos was more then two hours away. Two away and two back, not counting traffic problems. We had to be back on board at 4:30 to sail at 5:00. Also too expensive to hire a taxi. But the museum was fine. Well, off to Zakinthos tomorrow. See you there! Signed, Captain, VancouverIMG_1310.JPGIMG_1370.JPG

